h1

Looking for a Translator [position taken]

January 10, 2011

The Recruitment Page is not working so I’ll post this in front. We’re looking for a dedicated translator to finish the final 4 episodes of Working!! DVD. Ever wondered there are no recent release posts for Working!!? Exactly ;_;. We accept part-time or full-time translators. Part-time is you only translate Working!! and leave after you’re done and full-time is you translate Working!! and stick around for a while (permanent is fine too) and translate a show or two. Our current translator, as always, is very busy. Mind you, she’s doing lots of shows at the moment.

Also, we’re looking for an additional English editor/QC’er. Bonus points if English is your native language. Leave a message here or visit #shin-gx@irc.rizon.net and look for SHiN or email me at shin.gx.fansubs@gmail.com. Project status? See that link on the right? Yeah, do click that.

– SHiN

P.S.

How much is a decently priced core i5 (4 cores) and motherboard anyway?

13 comments

  1. That’s a broad request. i5 spans an incredibly wide range, and the new Sandy Bridge chips are i5s too. Does power consumption/wattage factor in, or just performance? What kind of mainboard, ATX, mATX? How many memory slots does it need? Does it need to be gaming/overclocking ready, or just plain jane?

    I’d recommend a i5-2400 (Sandy Bridge, socket is LGA 1155). Can get them in the US off Newegg or similar for around $195 USD or even a bit less. Extremely fast for a mid-range chip. The 2300 is only $10 less and its clocked 300Mhz slower, so I feel the 2400 is the best balance (as long as you’re fine with a normal 95 watt model)

    If you go that route a decent ATX H67/P67 board will probably cost you around $100-140. I haven’t looked at mATX boards because I hate mATX boards. Why? Because an mATX board usually means an mATX case and my hands are too big for most of those, so upgrades and repairs become a chore. But mATX boards might be an option for you, and pricing should be similar or even less.

    With that said, I’m a bit more of an AMD guy, especially in that price range. AMD holds a ton of value in the sub-$200 CPU segment. Heck, $200 will buy you a 6-core 3.0 Ghz Phenom II. If the prices for i5 CPUs are too steep for you, you need to either consider older Core 2 Quad models or else look at AMD Phenom II X4 and X6 models. I can give advice on those too.

    Also, while I value Sandy Bridge as a whole, and there are some good things about it, do NOT encode using Quick Path acceleration. Quality is shite. It is good for temporary encodes, like rapidly scaling down a large HD video to something small that a phone can play. Because after you’re done, you’re just gonna delete it and keep the pretty copy on your PC. But for serious/permanent encoding, it is inferior to software-only encoding, and even inferior to Stream (and probably CUDA) accelerated encodes.


  2. @Alexvrb:

    Thanks! I’m only interested in the performance of the processor and having at least 4 cores is okay and a motherboard where I can put at least 6 GB of RAM and for everyday use (gaming, encoding, misc. stuff). A mobo with a two card SLI is fine too. To be honest, I can’t really say I’ll go with AMD. It’s completely alien to me. I’ll go with Intel because I’ve been using their stuff for a very long time. I’ll read more on Sandy Bridge as soon as I get home. Oh and sorry I can’t really answer your questions regarding the specific models of the motherboard. Totally clueless. =( I guess I 300+ is not bad. I’ll go save up first. =/


  3. I started out as an Intel-only PC padawan, many years ago. After they abandoned Socket 7, I discovered AMD’s K6 and K6-2 chips. I had a Socket 7 box with a 166Mhz Pentium MMX chip, which I upgraded to a 400Mhz K6-2, for less money than it would have cost me to drop in a 233Mhz Intel chip. Which, coincidentally, was the fastest chip Intel offered for that socket.

    Anyway, I could ramble on for quite some time, so enough old history. While I personally use AMD most of the time, I don’t dislike Intel’s chips. They (generally) build good hardware, if a bit expensive at times. I just like to point out that there’s nothing wrong with AMD, and their chips/boards are not all that different in terms of installation and functionality.

    If you’re dead set on an quad core i5, that Sandy Bridge model is the best deal for your dollar (currently). If you’d consider an AMD-based machine, you can get a decent motherboard for $90 (Asrock 870+SB850 based board, USB 3.0, SATA 3.0, 16GB max memory, two PCIe x16 slots for Crossfire). Couple that with a Phenom II X4 Black 955 @ 3.2Ghz or 965 @ 3.4Ghz ($145 and $160, respectively) and you’re good to go.


  4. I just realized that you were talking about SLI by name, rather than just dual PCIe x16 slots. I’ve used PC graphics cards of all varieties, and my general opinion is that neither SLI nor Crossfire are usually worth the headache. It is *usually* just easier (and quieter, cooler, and less power hungry) to use a single faster card within the same budget. So if you wanted a 500 series Geforce, that would be no problem. ๐Ÿ™‚

    However, with that said both SLI and Crossfire have grown up quite a bit and are pretty much on par with each other. I just happen to prefer ATI/AMD graphics cards right now, for value and features. But I’ve used Nvidia cards before, and I’m sure I will again. I’ve used them fairly recently in others machines.

    I did get burned a couple of times by Nvidia (mostly on integrated laptop chips, google Nvidia bumpgate), so I think that subconciously affects my personal buying preference. But when it comes to recommending cards for friends I usually just try to make sure it is a reliable chip on a card by a reliable vendor, and then pick whatever is currently the best value for their budget.


  5. Hello… I can help with editing/QCing, if you’re still looking for people. I’ve been using English for 20 years (it’s my second language, but my Chinese is pretty bad, actually…), and it’s definitely the language I’m most fluent and comfortable with at this time.

    I’ve taken a couple introductory Japanese courses, as have watched a lot of fansubbed anime and listened to much Jpop, so I’ve picked up bits and pieces along the way.

    Admittedly, my Japanese isn’t even near conversational levels to me, but… well, I’m offering my English services to you, in any case!

    I’ll be hanging around your IRC channel (Senna_Wong), so drop me a message there or here if you’re still in need of help!


  6. If you live near a Micro Center, you can get a Sandy Bridge i5 and a motherboard that will run it (and will hold up to 32GB of RAM) for about $270.


  7. Yes, you can get a SB i5 and a motherboard for $270. You can even get a 2300 and an Intel-brand board, along with Civilization 5, for $270 on Newegg. But I don’t usually price combo deals, or sales, since they can vanish. I also don’t usually price cheap mainboards, but the one they’re packing in the Newegg combo actually isn’t a bad board, it’s an Intel board, but it doesn’t support SLI/Crossfire.

    Also as I have said before I’d spend the extra money and get the 2400, it has a 300Mhz higher base clock as well as a 300Mhz higher peak turbo. It’s only $10 more.


  8. If you were to get a second generation (Sandy Bridge) Core i5 CPUs, I would suggest either i5-2500K (~$225 USD) or i5-2300 (~$185 USD), because all the other currently available models have built-in DRM (Intel TXT), making them a waste of money. For the same reason, you might wish to look for a motherboard with P67 chipset, since it’s the only one in the lineup that doesn’t have PAVP.

    http://www.intel.com/products/processor/corei5/#specifications


  9. PAVP is only one part of the TXT (Trusted Execution Technology). Furthermore it can only be enabled if BOTH the chipset AND the CPU support it. So your CPU model recommendations don’t make sense to me. If you’re *REALLY* concerned about it, you can get any model i5 SB and just get the P67-based board. Then neither TXT nor PAVP will function. However, those are not purely bad technologies, and have some legitimate uses as well. For example, if you don’t have TXT you also lose things like VT-d.

    Intel isn’t the only one adding content protection. HDCP is already in other hardware, including AMD/Nvidia graphics chips. More advanced versions are progressing as well. I don’t really *LIKE* it, but that’s the way it is. Piracy is rampant and they have finally realized they need to get a protected path from beginning to end to at least make piracy slightly harder.

    Regardless there are ways around it. Just like every other method before it. ๐Ÿ˜€


  10. Oh looks like PAVP also handles hardware video decoding. But if it gets in the way, you can disable it in the BIOS. Which since you’re gonna be using discrete graphics, wouldn’t be an issue to disable it.


  11. Any news regarding vol 2 of aki sora?


  12. @ShouTakuya:

    What a coincidence! We’re done with the final episode and it’ll be available in KagamiBot (IRC) within the hour (as of this writing). Release via bittorrent will be in a few hours. I’m currently at work and can’t do anything until I get back. =(


  13. @SHiN hehe thanks~ I’m loyal to SHiN-gx so I didn’t download the other’s work ^o^



Leave a Reply

