h1

The parts are here! Well, some of them.

July 25, 2012

Please excuse the poor camera quality.

They’re finally here, folks! These are the stuff we bought last month and the video card arrived today. The i5 arrived a few weeks ago. I don’t want this post to be wordy, so I’ll be brief.

We were unable to buy the specific brand of RAM sticks we wanted and what you see in the picture are basically all we bought. No thanks to the good, honest, understanding people at the Bureau of Customs. We had to pay 80-100 dollars for Duties and Tax and the shipping costs aren’t helping either.

Currently the i5 CPU is just an expensive paper weight. So yeah, the computer we’re building won’t run for a while. Yeah, I know, we should have went for the 3570K, and stuff like that. But despite all that, we got the essentials at least. All thanks to your big support, guys. We can’t thank you enough!

— SHiN

13 comments

  1. nice parts you have there :3


  2. Sandybridge > Ivy Bridge imo


  3. Best of luck eventually building your own GLaDOS


  4. Gorgeous photography, the blurriness really helps bring out the plaid background. May I ask what camera that was taken with? I’m assuming it is the latest batman underwater camera with dual nerf launchers. Does it do HDRs? I may just have to pick one up the next time I’m at toysRus.

    Funny thing is, that actually might be a higher quality picture than my gnex can take…..


  5. 2500k is already pretty good and you can OC as well. I just built my own computer not too long ago and as far as brands go for ram sticks, it doesn’t really matter. (I’m also planning on getting that gfx card as well whenever they go on sale).

    Great build :Db


  6. Is this strictly for encoding? The Fermi you chose has me confused. For gaming, Kepler runs circles around it. For GPU-accelerated encoding you’d want a faster Fermi (or GCN, depending on the application) and a slower CPU. For software-based encoding the GPU doesn’t matter much at all. So to me the 560 Ti is kind of in the middle. Doesn’t really excel at anything. Just my opinion, anyway.

    The CPU is great though. I agree with chieftain, I’d go with SB any day over IVB. Especially if I planned to push the clocks up, even on air. IVB has a huge lead over SB in mobile devices, however. Too bad that they clock the HD4000 all over the board depending on model, but they name them all HD4000 just the same.

    As far as memory goes, I don’t completely agree that “brand doesn’t matter”. But at the same time, all of the major brands have good or good enough models. There’s no reason to be stuck with a particular brand/model. As long as you get quality memory with the timings and voltage range you’re looking for (especially if you’re overclocking, you have to be somewhat cautious with Intel’s IMC when it comes to RAM voltage).

    Besides that, the difference in performance of a module at the same clocks with “slow” timings vs “fast” timings is generally pretty darn small in most real-world applications. Unless you’re using something like a laptop running Trinity and you’re using the integrated graphics – at least for the GPU side, they will use all the bandwidth you throw at them.


  7. @Alexvrb:

    Not strictly for encoding. I’ll use it like every other computer as well. For the GPU, it has an attractive price tag. It was tempting. Actually I was going for the 600 series, but yeah, they’re a tad bit expensive and we took estimates on how much we are going to pay in the shipping and taxes. We’re usually more in CPU-based encoding and GPU encoding is… it’s worth experimenting over. For as long as the new machine can shave off hours in encoding, that’s pretty darn fine with me!

    By the way, you got a suggestion on what motherboard to use?


  8. Yeah you guys do get screwed on shipping and local rape- I mean customs. Sorry about that.

    Anyway GPU encoding is still a bit immature, and the results depend heavily on the software and hardware used. A lot of current efforts do not produce archival-quality results. I’m very interested in seeing what AMD’s VCE hybrid mode can do, when its released.

    Intel’s Quick Sync I don’t put in this same category because while it is *extremely fast*, quality suffers greatly, and there are few levers to play with. It’s a black box. You shove video in and it spits out… something.

    However Quick Sync is extremely good for quick downsizing/downscaling of video for playback on a mobile device. So you could take a high-bitrate HD video you’ve got archived on your PC and quickly downsize it for a phone/tablet. It should be fine for a small screen. Plus it is lightning fast and you’re just going to delete it later anyway. But that’s about the only thing I’d use it for.


  9. As for mainboard suggestions, I have a hard time suggesting a specific board. Choosing one always takes me way longer than choosing any other internal component. The only thing that I sometimes find is more difficult is choosing a chassis, and even then that’s only if I have size/space restrictions or other special considerations.

    Anyway, it depends on what you’re looking for. Form factor, pricing, features. Do you want to overclock, etc. For entry-level to mid-range boards lately I’ve had pretty good luck with Asrock. Otherwise, for an Intel build if you’re willing to spend a bit more, Intel’s own boards are usually pretty good.

    I tend to prefer their somewhat more performance-oriented chipsets, so I’d look at a Z75 or Z77. The main differences that I am aware of are that Z77 supports up to three graphics cards vs two for the Z75, and Z77 has Smart Response. Smart Response is Intel’s SSD caching technology, and it actually works pretty well. You can add a small SSD (SLC recommended) at any time for caching. So if that interests you, I’d get the Z77. Otherwise, Z75.

    If you want a more mid-level chipset, don’t need SLI or overclocking but still want caching, there’s also H77. Don’t want any of the above, well then there’s the lower-end chipsets. But seems kind of a shame to pair that CPU to a budget board.


  10. @Alexvrb:

    Overclocking is optional and I really don’t need two or three GPUs. I see you mentioned the Sabertooth Z77. It’s actually the board I want, but dang it’s around 240 bucks and I’m guessing I have to fork out around 60 bucks for the tax. The H77 is still attractive though.


  11. :3 i built
    Case: CoolerMaster Storm Enforcer
    PSU: Silverstone Strider Plus 750W ST75F-P
    Mob: ASUS P8Z77-V Motherboard (love the BIOS and the wi-fi is niffy but not needed)
    CPU: Intel Core i5 3570K
    RAM: G.Skill Ares F3-1866C9D-8GAB 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
    HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB WD1002FAEX
    SSD: Intel 330 Series 120GB SSD
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD7870 2GB GHZ
    HSF: CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler
    Monitor: LG IPS236V-PN

    $1,700AUD with shipping :3 baw ha harr
    tho kinda wish i went with a GTX 670, AMD LOD/pop-in is ugly.
    SSD prices have come down a lot.

    the GTX 660 should be out some time soonish, like 2 3 weeks.

    working. that its all.


  12. Well Intel’s own relatively basic Z77 board can be had for around $120 or so. If that’s still a bit much, Asrock has a Z75 full ATX board for around $85.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121618

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157304

    I haven’t had any LOD issues with any Radeons in recent memory. I use cards from both vendors (and others besides, in the distant land of nostalgia). In fact recent testing shows that all else remaining equal, AMD and Nvidia are normally nearly indistinguishable in terms of IQ. I never use stock drivers though, always skip the disc and nab the latest stable cats direct from AMD.

    If vanilla 660s don’t show up soon, my next budget-ish build will employ a 7850. You can get a baseline XFX 7850 for $230, $210 after a MIR.


  13. boop



Leave a Reply

